Circuit Board Award

The CIRCUIT BOARD AWARD is a special recognition award that is presented to members of the York Radio Club who have distinguished themselves through long-term service to the club and within the amateur radio community. The award is presented only when a qualified member is recognized. There is no mandatory time frame in which an award must be made, although if one is made it is usually presented at the Club’s annual Valentine’s Dinner or when circumstances warrant.

The original CIRCUIT BOARD AWARD was made to honor the sponsor of the York Radio Club at Elmhurst College when the club met there. It was presented to Dr. Sawyer when he left Elmhurst College to take a position elsewhere. In 1980 the then president of the club, Les Otto, WK9U decided some type of recognition for members who distinguished themselves over the long haul would be fitting for the club to present. At first the sole judge of who received the award was the institutor. As time went on all award recipients met and voted, but this became cumbersome. Now all available recipients meet in January to decide whether there is a candidate to be considered.

Some of the criteria considered are: length of elevated service (this means not just being a long term member, but a long term participant in the club and its activities); taking an active roll in the club by serving at some level (on a committee, as an officer or director, or in a chair position); and teaching, helping, volunteering, doing, in other words — ELMERING. The successful candidate does not set out to win this award, because it is not a “Ham of the Year” award. Most anyone can put forth the effort for a year or two in order to gain an award, but that is not good enough for this award. The recipient of the CIRCUIT BOARD AWARD has done exemplary work in the service of the Amateur Radio Community for many years, not because of the possibility of receiving the award, but because of the desire to promote the hobby, and serve the club and community.

The person most likely to be selected to receive this award is one who continually jumps into the fray, not to make a splash, but to do a job that needs to be done. In other words, it is not for the recognition, but for the self-satisfaction of recognizing a need and fulfilling it. It is this type of person whose name comes to the fore when those in charge question if the award is to be presented. The CIRCUIT BOARD AWARD is most often presented to a person who has done much, but does not believe it was enough and continues to look for more ways to serve. Receipt of this award is partly an expression of thank you for service rendered, but also an expectation of continued leadership to the Amateur Radio Community.

< td>

Award # Year Recipient Call Sign Note
01 1980 Rich Jensen KD9ZQ Now NR9J
02 1980 Jim Cameron W9JDX
03 1981 Carl Zaruba WA9NRI Silent Key
04 1981 Florence Zaruba (none)
05 1986 Joseph Gutwein WA9RIJ  Silent Key
06 1987 Jordan Kaplan W9KQE
07 1987 Les Otto W9LSO
08 1988 Jack Kamm WA9OHU  Silent Key
09 1989 Ernie Krause K9BFU
10 1990 Cliff Strain W9KBU Silent Key
11 1991 Darrell Burton WB9TUF Silent Key
12 1992 Ray Donley WA9LCW Silent Key
13 1994 Fred Bacon WA1MRH
14 1994 Mike Wenninger WK9J
15 1996 Don Longley NU9B Silent Key
16 1998 Al Martin N9JSZ  Silent Key
17 2000 Rich Earl W9JUC Silent Key
18 2002 Paul Cavallaro NJ9V
19 2003 Terry Pelkola KW9L
20 2004 Don Drake K9VGN Silent Key
21 2004 Joe Sawukaytis N9PX
22 2005 Gehl Entwhistle KB9DVC
23 2005 Bob Bejna KB9FUR
24 2007 Marv Jelonek KB9ZGR
25 2008 Chuck Hopper K9PLX
26 2009 Dragan Dragojevic NN9L
27 2010 Todd Benson W9YK
28 2011 Mark Burlingame KB9TVD
29 2012 Crystal Scott KC9ISR
30 2014 George Tasson KC9UIU
31 2015 Steve Jurasek N9ZE
32 2016 Martin Roycewicz KD4SLL
33 2017 Don Mocarski KB9SWI
34 2018 Dave Novotny KC9AMY
35 2019 Bill Vest Jr N9WGV
36 2019 – summer John McCormick K9KE

Serving The Interests Of Amateur Radio in the Elmhurst area